When it comes to relationships, romantic or platonic, each person identifies with a love language. Discovering you or your partner’s love language can help you understand each other in ways you never thought possible.  

The five love languages are physical touch, words of affirmation, acts of service, gifts and quality time. 

Recognising which love language resonates with you most in either romantic relationships or friendships, can help you learn what you need from another individual in order to feel appreciated and secure. 

Learning other people’s primary love language can also help you cater towards their needs in the ways that matter to them most. 

The five love languages were first discovered by Gary Chapman, an American author and marriage counsellor. Chapman discusses this concept further in his book, 5 Love Languages, where he explains the five different ways romantic partners give and receive love. 

Overall, the concept of ‘love languages’ is a perfect way of simplifying what you and your partner prioritise in a relationship. This is a method that can also be applied

 to other platonic relationships and friendships in your life. 

Physical Touch

This love language would resonate with someone who enjoys being touched in innocent and caring ways. Whether it be a pat on the shoulder or a massage, someone who identifies with this love language likes to physically feel the connection, love and warmth of their partner through small gestures of touch. 

If you relate to this love language the most, be sure to let your partner know that touch is important in order for you to feel loved by them. 

Words of Affirmation

Words of affirmation is a love language that embodies the idea that actions actually don’t speak louder than words. This relates to someone who enjoys being complimented and reminded of how much they are loved and appreciated through words, whether they be written or vocalised. 

If this is your love language, encourage your significant other to drown you in compliments and to vocalise their love for you. 

Acts of Service 

Acts of service are simply doing things for your partner or loved one that you know they would appreciate. This could be exercised by running an errand for your partner or making them breakfast before work. This love language essentially makes life that little bit easier for your partner by helping them out when necessary. 

If acts of service are your love language, let your partner know how appreciative you are when they perform these actions, even if it’s a subtle gesture. 


This love language is obvious…gifts! This doesn’t mean that you have to spend hundreds of dollars on your partner in order for them to feel loved, the small things are what matter the most. To someone with this love language, receiving a gift makes them feel special as it shows you were thinking of them when they weren’t around. 

If gifts are your love language, make sure your partner knows it’s not the gift that counts, it’s the thought. 

Quality Time 

Lastly, this love language is for people who want their partners’ undivided attention. Someone with this love language appreciates spending all their time with their partner/loved one whether it be doing fun activities or just relaxing on the couch. 

If this may be your love language, remind your partner how happy it makes you when they spend time with you. 

Learning about love languages can help you pinpoint what you need in a relationship and what makes you feel loved and appreciated by your partner or loved ones. 

This knowledge can also help you cater to your partner’s love language and help you to understand them in ways you never have before.

Write A Comment

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!